ITU unveils 2013 ITU World Triathlon Series

After crowning Lisa Norden (SWE) and Jonathan Brownlee (GBR) as the 2012 ITU World Champions this past weekend, the International Triathlon Union (ITU) has today announced the schedule for the 2013 ITU World Triathlon Series.

Emerging from the excitement of the highly successful London 2012 Olympic Games, the 2013 ITU World Triathlon Series (ITU WTS) visits eight cities in four continents as the world’s top triathletes compete head-to-head to be crowned the 2013 ITU World Champion.

Entering its fifth season, triathlon’s premier global series features eight rounds of race action, culminating with the Grand Final on the 2012 Olympic course in Hyde Park, London.

2013 ITU World Triathlon Series:
6-7 April: Auckland, New Zealand
20-21 April: San Diego, USA
11-12 May: Yokohama, Japan
1-2 June: Madrid, Spain
6-7July: Kitzbühel, Austria
20-21 July: Hamburg, Germany (sprint distance and ITU Triathlon Mixed Relay World Championships)
24-25 August: Stockholm, Sweden
Grand Final – 11-16 September: London, Great Britain

Every race will feature age-group races and all elite women’s and men’s races will be broadcast live to an international audience and streamed live online. In 2012, the series was broadcast in more than 160 countries.

“The ITU World Triathlon Series has seen astonishing growth year after year and the 2013 edition again travels around the globe to some of the world’s major cities,” said Marisol Casado, ITU President and IOC Member. “2013 promises another season of thrilling ITU racing before closing the season in London where we witnessed some of the most spectacular action in the history of our sport.”

Auckland makes its mark
The 2013 ITU World Triathlon Series opens where this year’s series concluded; in Auckland where the 2012 World Champions were decided this past weekend.

Triathlon New Zeland (Tri NZ) has noted that the legacy of this past weekend’s Barfoot & Thompson World Triathlon Grand Final is now secure with today’s announcement that Auckland will host an annual ITU World Triathlon Series Event for the next four years, starting in April 2013.

Tri NZ CEO Craig Waugh is delighted at the news and the timing for the new event, with Auckland set to host in the late summer/early autumn season of the southern hemisphere with hopefully more settled weather on offer.

“This is wonderful recognition for the foresight, belief and the hard work that Triathlon New Zealand, the LOC team and stakeholders and key partners throughout the city of Auckland that have helped deliver a brilliant ITU World Cup in 2011 and an equally memorable Grand Final this weekend,” said Waugh.

He continued, “When Triathlon New Zealand first set out to host this year’s World Series Grand Final, it was a calculated risk, but a legacy event was always an end goal to maintain momentum and profile for the sport and opportunities for our athletes, something we are responsible for as a National Sporting Organisation.”

Going back to its roots
The series then shifts to the birthplace of triathlon, San Diego, after a highly popular and successful début in the series earlier this year.

Japan will host the ITU World Triathlon Series for the third time in Yokohama, before the series moves to Europe starting in Spain. A candidate city for the 2020 Olympic Games, Madrid offers athletes its usual challenging course through Casa de Campo Park.

Scenic Kitzbühel, Austria will welcome the ITU World Triathlon Series for the fifth straight year and will feature a unique mountain course finishing on the famous Kitzbühel Horn.

In addition to sprint distance races, Hamburg will also host the 2013 ITU Triathlon Mixed Relay World Championships in July, less than two months before the IOC’s decision on whether ITU’s bid for inclusion in the Olympic Games will be successful.

The series travels to Stockholm for the penultimate round in late August before the season reaches its peak on 11-16 September at the Grand Final in London where the 2013 ITU World Champions will be crowned. Races will be from 11-15 September while the 26th ITU Congress will be held on 16 September.

The 25th edition of the biggest event on the annual ITU calendar also marks the 20th anniversary of the first and only other time Great Britain has staged the ITU Triathlon World Championships when Manchester hosted back in 1993.

The ITU Triathlon World Championships were first held in Avignon, France in 1989. In 2009, the championships were revamped, expanding the former single-day World Championships event into an exciting multi-city global series, culminating with the Grand Final. Athletes earn points throughout the season and those who win the overall series are crowned the ITU Triathlon World Champions.


Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.